ipsy June 2014 Glam Bag “Pretty in Paradise” – First Impressions

It’s that time again everyone!! ipsy sent me my June GlamBag. Sorry for flooding those who already read some reviews…. For whatever reason my bag gets lost in limbo for a few days (read: Ships on the 9th and arrives around the 19th). This makes it later than everyone else!! This bag looks really good, let me share with you all what I got in this month’s bag! (Enjoy the “Pretty in Paradise” themed photos!)

Essence of Beauty Forever Paris Fine Fragrance Body Mist

I haven’t heard of this brand before so I did some research and through ipsy I found that this brand is sold through CVS! I looked more into their brand page on their website (linked on the header above) and found out I really like their values. This is taken from the website:

“We’re passionate – not just about our fragrances, but about the quality of our ingredients. We start by enriching our formulas with revitalizing passionflower seed and rice bran oils, antioxidant-rich vitamins, soothing aloe and renewing shea butter. But what we leave out of our bath and body products is equally as important as the nourishing ingredients we put into them. That’s why each skincare formula is free from parabens, artificial dyes, phthalates, petrolatum and gluten. And we never test on animals.”

 It very much is trying to emulate the Paris Armour from Bath and Body. Other reviewers have commented about how there is a strong rubbing alcohol smell. There is that smell at first but then as it absorbs into the skin or cloth it starts to really come alive. I would describe it as a more woodsy (that’s a word right?) version of Paris Amour.

This is a full sized 2.0z product listed at $2.99 on the website.

NickaK New York – Shimmer Eyeliner in Green

Two brands in a row I’m not familiar with! I browsed NickaK’s website and I’m pretty pleased with the selection and prices. I swatched this on my hand and I had about 30 seconds of dry time before I finger smudge tested it. It passes! A little of the glitter comes off but the color and shimmer stays true. I already have something similar in color with my stila eyeliner so I would have loved a purple or teal, but I can’t complain! Their only $4.99 and with our ipsy discount it’s even cheaper!

This is a full sized 1.0z product listed at $4.99 on the website.

Marc Anthony True Professional Dream Waves Beach Spray

One! Two! Three! Three brands I didn’t know much about. Know I know who Marc Anthony is, but I didn’t have any idea he had a hair care product line. I popped the cap off of this and took a wiff and I literally.. no joke… out lout said, “Mmmm”. This smells Ah-maze-ing! I hope to try this out this weekend for some fresh beachy waves.

This was a 1.52 oz sample sized product. The full sized product is currently on sale for $6.99 from $8.79. This makes my sample worth $2.80.

Be A Bombshell  – Lash Out Mascara

I HAVE heard of Be a Bombshell! I am quite pleased with a blush I got in a previous ipsy bag, as well as a lip product from them. I am however not so pleased with the smell of this one. Smell shouldn’t matter that much, right? I was just put off about how much it smelt like burnt plastic?… Never fear! This will not startle me. I will still try it and review it for you!

This is a full sized product listed at $15.00 on the website.

NYX  – Butter Gloss

I definitely love me some NYX! This is the first butter gloss in my collection. I got the color Apple Strudel and it’s ironically very peach in color. Super sheer. Just a tiny amount of color. This would go great over coral or more opaque peach lip colors. I smells good, tastes good. ;), and overall is a solid product. Can’t complain for the price. I’m a happy girl!

This is a full sized product listed at $5.00 on the website.

OVERALL FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This has to be my smallest valued ipsy bag so far at $30.78. But that doesn’t mean it’s the worst! In fact I think I would rate the actual products higher than some in the more expensive bags I’ve received. The NYX butter gloss and Marc Anthony Beach Spray stole the show and they were among the cheapest items in my bag!

Do you subscribe to a makeup bag/subscription? Let us know! We’re always interested in trying new companies.

You might like to see what other ipsters are reviewing! They might have received other things! Check out these blogs:

follypops: http://follypops.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/ipsy-review-june-2014/
itsCoriShea: http://itscorishea.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/ipsy-glam-bag-june-2014/
A Garden and A Twilight Await: http://amaranthinthegarden.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/ipsy-myglam-bag-june-2014-review/
Legally Redhead: http://legallyredhead.com/2014/06/19/ipsy-bag-june-2014-review/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ipsy June 2014 Glam Bag “Pretty in Paradise” – First Impressions

  1. DanielleD says:

    Please post what you think of the beach waves spray! My hair is pretty straight but if I let it air dry, it’s super frumpy. I’m hoping to find a product that an make my “frumpy” hair look more intentional – and better! 🙂 maybe even before & after pictures? 🙂 thanks!

  2. Amarante says:

    I’d like to know how the spray went as well, also sorta jealous about the shade you got for your Butter Gloss. I’m finding that Eclair doesn’t work well with my skin…

  3. Here’s an update ladies! I used the spray and it made my hair smell and feel really good! I wish I could have “frumpy” hair!! I think that’s because my hair is super thick and frizzy naturally. I always straighten it. If you have thinner hair I think if you mixed this up with some gel then it would be perfect for you. My only complaint is that for my thick heavy hair… it didn’t last as long as I wanted it to. Maybe half a day at the most before I would have to reapply or put it up. Hope this helped!

Leave a Reply

