Cheesecake with Somersault Cinnamon Crunch Crust

If you don’t remember me raving about Somersault in my January favorites post you can check this link. They were sold at my local Target and I bought them on a whim. Never heard of the company or concept before and I liked that they were individually packed snacks under 150 calories. Little did I know, until recently, that they had other flavors! Tons of variety to pick from and each one is jam-packed with flavors. I, with a little help from Somersault Co.*, wanted to share some recipes.

I had already tried one of their salty variety, the Pacific Sea Salt, and was in the mood for trying something sweet. The first one I tried was Cinnamon Crunch. WOAH! The first thing I thought when I plopped one in my mouth was, “this would be a great pie crust“. Just the right mix of sweet with a hint of salty.

Now, I don’t know if you know this, but we’re in the middle of Winter Storm Pax! I didn’t want to risk being in the middle of a recipe and having the power (aka the oven) cut out on me so I decided to go with the Jello No-Bake Real Cheesecake mix. I just didn’t use the boring graham cracker crust that it came with because I was going to make a delicious crust with Somersault Co.’s Cinnamon Crunch cracker. If you make it this way just keep the graham cracker crust bag for another treat some other time. But for now? It’s delicious  cheesecake making time!

What you’ll need: 

*Somersault Co. Cinnamon Crunch – 6oz bag or 2cups
*Jello No-Bake Cheesecake (or a cheesecake recipe to your liking)
*5tbsps butter
*Medium Mixing Bowl
*Blender
*Hand Mixer (or stand up mixer if you’re fancy)
*Spoon
*Pie dish

Optional
*Fresh Strawberries
*Cutting Board
*Knife
*Spoonful of sugar*Something to mash cut strawberries (I used a fork and spoon)
*Something to mash cut strawberries (I used a fork and spoon)

Pour the Somersault Cinnamon Crunch Crackers in the blender and pulse/blend until you hit a consistency you like. I left mine a little gritty (about 10 more seconds after this photo) so I could get the full effect of the crunch. Mix with the melted butter until you have a soft crust like mixture. Spoon into the pie pan and use the underside of the spoon to press into shape. Doesn’t have to be perfect!

In a separate medium/large mixing bowl create your cheesecake mixture. If you’re following the Jello No-Bake recipe just add 1-1/2 cups milk to the mixture. Pre-mix with a spoon and then get your hand mixer involved! You’ll be up all night trying to thicken this up otherwise! Start on low and work your way up to medium for about 3-4 minutes until it is really thick.

Spread the cheesecake mixture in your freshly pressed Somersault crust and smooth out the top of the cheesecake. Place this in the fridge for however long your recipe states. Jello No-Bake? 1 hour.

While that’s chilling in the fridge, wash, slice, and partially-mush 3 strawberries per serving. My husband and I can’t eat this whole cake by ourselves in one sitting so I took 6 strawberries and mushed them up real good! hehehe. I added just a touch of sugar to soften them. Place this in the fridge until the cheesecake is ready to be taken out.

Cut, serve and spoon a helping of strawberries on top and you have a delicious dessert with a unique crust that will add a complete new level of awesomeness to an otherwise “out of the box” dessert. My husbands vote? “Mmm, this is so good!

Hope you enjoyed! Comment your suggestions, if you tried it, and what you would use these crackers for and you just may see it featured in a new recipe!

(*special thanks to Somersault Co. for providing the crackers)

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

