Countdown to Christmas: Decorating with a Budget

The countdown has begun!

It’s officially 2 weeks until Christmas y’all!! Freaking out? Let me help you with an easy sugar cookie frosting/glaze recipe that will help you make holiday memories with the special people in your life.

This week my dear husband and I made our own batch of cookies together. Do you remember decorating cookies with your parents for Christmas? Grab a box of Sugar Cookie Mix and get going! I’ll share with you the frosting recipe that my mom used with us that is the bees knees!

Don’t mind the crazy looking Joker cookie.. the icing bled. LOL!

Sugar Cookie Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk (more if needed)

**To achieve a thicker frosting like application use less milk.**

**To achieve a glaze, use more milk as needed**

This was my favorite cookie. Too bad it met it’s fate and has been to my belly now. Begin my sugar cookie coma….

I don’t know who started the pressures of decorating for the Holidays but sometimes it has me in hives. Pinterest here. Magazine there. Store-front windows galore. It’s almost too much for the average Joe to focus on to make their tree and/or living space compare and be picture perfect. This year I decided to de-stress myself from societies push for more and get back to basics. My goal was try to spend the least amount while still looking posh. For me that was less than $100 on -new- decorations.

A table to enjoy a meal.

Tablecloth at BigLots – $8
Runner at BigLots – $6
Chargers at Michaels – 4 for $8 similar here
Plates (I already had) at Target – FREE
Napkins at Hobby Lobby – 4 for $2 similar here
Plate Decorations at Michaels – 4 for $4
Cylinders on Clearance from a Craft Store – 3 for $3 similar here
Glass Trees from Target (last year) – Free similar here
Ornaments at Target– 3 for $9
Bows from Walmart (last year) – Free

Total for NEW items purchased: $40.00

A tree for the presents of course!

Tree Ornaments at Target – $12 (Sale Price)
Lights at Target – $14 (2 for $7 Sale Price)
Tree Skirt at Lowes – $23 (Sale Price)

Total for NEW items purchased: $49.00
Running Total: $89.00

And Candles (for me it reminds us of how fortunate we are to be living where we’re living) and… because I said so.

Green Table Runner at Dollar Tree – $1
Green Glade Sparkling Spruce candle at Target – $2.99
Holiday Time Vanilla Cookie Candle (not pictured) from WalMart 2012 – FREE
Glass votives (turned upside down) from ??? 2012 – FREE
Nut Crackers from Dollar Tree 2012 – FREE
Spruce Candle Spray from WalMart 2012 – FREE

Total for NEW items purchased: $3.99
Running Total: $92.99

I made it just under $100 WOO!

I hope this helped you with planning any last minute decorations you need!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Countdown to Christmas: Decorating with a Budget

  1. girlychristina says:

    Your house looks great and ready for Santa and guests =) I was recently at the Dollar Tree and I just love that store. Everything is so affordable AND cute!!! I wanted to get that table runner and since I see how pretty it looks in your house, I wanna get one too! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Kris says:

    It just goes to show you that you can have a magazine spread in your own home on a budget!!! Every year the collection gets better. Don’t forget , the after Christmas sales are a great time to pick up nice things at a better$ .

Leave a Reply

