Go Veggie!

My Husband, Christian, wanted to jump on the blog and tell you guys a little about himself! Here it goes..

I love meat.

BBQ Ribs, Steaks, Cheeseburgers, Pulled Pork, BACON.

Never in a million years did I ever imagine myself going vegetarian. Recently, however, I started experiencing severe discomfort every time I ate meat of any kind. Imagine getting stabbed in the stomach multiple times and then your entire arm going numb. About a week ago, I finally decided it was time to make the switch. I decided to cut all red meat, pork, chicken, and fish out of my diet. I had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. In my mind it was just going to be all salads and happiness. Little did I know, that by excluding this list of foods, I was going to have to figure out alternative ways to supplement the necessary irons and proteins, especially as a runner.

So I visited some websites for help (there are tons others out there too!)

Choose My Plate

Cooking Light 

Both of these sites helped me figure out exactly which nutrients I needed to start supplementing, and what foods I could eat in order to keep me balanced. Being on a military base in a remote location, however, my food options are severely limited. The dining facility here doesn’t exactly cater to vegetarians so I really had to rely on supplements to get the remaining nutrients I needed. The most notable of which being the B12.

Veggie Vitamins

I take the Tri-Flex and Fish Oil mostly as an anti-inflammatory. The Multi-Vitamin helps ensure I’m getting the right amount of other vitamins and minerals my body needs, in case my dining facility decides to further limit my meal options for the day. And finally, the B12 helps ensure I have the energy I need to get through my day.

One week later I can safely say I made the best decision for myself. This is the healthiest and most energetic I’ve been in years. I still crave meat every once in a while but I’m dedicated enough to my new lifestyle that it’s easier for me to resist. I hope you continue to follow my wife and I’s journey through vegetarianism and we look forward to posting more about our new lifestyle.

Disclosure: I am not a Doctor, what works for me may not work for you. As always, check with a medical professional if something doesn’t seem right!

 

Stephanie here: I have become slightly vegetarian anyways! It’s a lot hard to cook a steak for just one then it is two, and pasta is so much easier not to mention cheaper! I have never been a huge bacon cheeseburger fan either. I was thinking of maybe doing some sort of ‘Meatless Monday’ recipes just incase anyone out there needs a little inspiration. This is just in time for New Years too if you are making a resolution.

 

As a side note: Some vitamins DO contain animal proteins and such. If you are hardcore vegetarian, they do make vegetarian vitamins!

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

