Playing Catch Up

It’s been a few days since I’ve updated, wanted to let you know I haven’t forgotten about you! Today I wanted to share with you all my new food favorites, beauty favorites, and exciting things I’ve been doing.

A few weeks ago Hubby and I made a trip up to Trader Joe’s for some essentials. Now if you haven’t been to a Trader Joe’s and you have one in your area… do me a favor and rectify this immediately! You’ll be so glad you did.

I had almost finished the two shampoos I had in my shower caddy (if you want to know what’s in my shower you can revisit my post here). I felt it was justified to get a new one. Trader Joe’s is known for offering natural alternatives for cleaning. Lots of DIY detergent options available with what they sell in the store. I was pleased to find out that they sell shampoo too! I picked up Trader Joe’s Balanced Moisturizing “Nourish SPA” Shampoo. Let me tell you.. this stuff is awesome. I have naturally curly, oily, dull hair. I’ve seen improved strength and shine in the last two weeks using this $3.99 bottle of shampoo than I ever did with the $20+ bottles. It’s my new favorite and plan on buying it again next time we’re up. And really.. at $3.99 I’m not going to complain!

Later in the week during my quest to find alternatives for my full fat, full sugar favorites I’ve stumbled upon a few gems. You should be able to find these at your local Walmart, Food Lion, Target, etc. The first is a company that gets right to the bottom line, and I like it; “Food Should Taste Good“. They make a Sweet Potato chip that is amazingly good. I can’t take all the credit for finding this, Hubby’s sister showed me this one weekend and I fell in love. Triscuit is getting fancy with it’s new flavors and have introduced a line of Brown Rice fused with other flavors. Of course I picked up my Sweet Potato addiction. It’s in the flavor “Roasted Sweet Onion”. They also have Savory Red Bean, Tomato and Sweet Basil, Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper and Roasted Red Pepper. Have you tried the other flavors? I want to try them but I’ll be a while finishing this box! Finally is Voortman’s Shortbread Swirl Cookies. Now I’m not saying that these are the best thing on earth and it even says it’s not a ‘reduced calorie food’, but a single cookie will cure my sweet tooth and I don’t have to feel as guilty for putting a lot of sugar down my system. I think I love these treats for the textures alone. I’d recommend you try them!

With Halloween last week and this past weekend a blur I wanted to share with you some exciting news. Brenna, with Brenna Wolfe Photography, is a photographer friend of mine, and over the course of the last several months, put together a concept to recreate the world of Mad Men. It’s a show on AMC that’s been getting a lot of attention. IMDB says “A drama about one of New York’s most prestigious ad agencies at the beginning of the 1960s, focusing on one of the firm’s most mysterious but extremely talented ad executives, Donald Draper.” Granted I’ve only watched 6 episodes but I’m in love with it! I hope I can dedicate more to it since I had so much fun portraying the character with the group. I can’t post the photographer’s link yet to her blog of photos, but here’s a selfie I took before we got started:

I hope to be able to start posting regularly again. I’ve been taking a priority to put myself first lately. Since my last post I have been running more. I’m talking 2 miles at a time instead of just the 1. Yay me! Determination is the teme of this month. Or I could just count this working off my Turkey belly early! haha … Much love!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Catch Up

  1. Brenna Wolfe says:

    YAY!!!! Can’t wait to get to the blog. You were an amazing “Joan” and I am hoping to do some more soon and of course I would love for you to participate! ❤ you!

  2. Pingback: Mad Men Photoshoot | East to West

Leave a Reply

