Recipe: Inspired by Chicken Gnocchi from Olive Garden

This recipe is inspired by my all time favorite Olive Garden Soup: Chicken Gnocchi.

I’m here to share with you what I’ve found to be a close copy cat and will take you less than 30 minutes to make. You will need:

Food

* 3 cans Cream of Potato Soup

* 1 box Gnocchi **

* Milk (2.5 Soup Cans)

* Cubed/Shredded Chicken Breasts (2)

* 1/4 Cup Chopped Spinach (drained)

* 1/4 Cup Shredded Carrots

* 1/4 Cup Parmesan Cheese

* Minced Garlic or Garlic Salt

* (Garlic) Salt and Pepper to Taste

Equipment

* Blender

* (2) Large Stove Top Pots

Directions:

Bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in a large stove top pot. Add Gnocchi and boil to package directions (5-7 minutes usually). Drain and add to a second pot.

Combine 3 cans of Cream of Potato and 2 cans Milk into a blender. Blend until smooth. Combine into the large pot with the gnocchi and add half of a can of milk to the mixture and set to a simmer. Add garlic (or garlic salt) and pepper to taste, cubed or cooked chicken shreds, shredded carrots, parmesan cheese, spinach and simmer for 10-15 minutes or until hot enough to serve.

There you have it! The hardest part to this whole recipe will either be blending the Cream of Potato soup mixture or cooking the chicken (if you don’t use canned cubed chicken).

I didn’t blend mine for my first go around. I had never used Cream of Potato Soup before and didn’t assume it would have chunks in it until I had already emptied my second can into the pot with the gnocchi. I’m saving you the pain of having to try and hand blend it by doing it before hand 😉

I had every intention of taking pretty pictures of this when it was finished and I had it in our bowls… but after I had a spoonful I lost all thought process on pictures. This was all that was left over the next day I had it for lunch. They say soup is always better the second day and I believe them. It was SO GOOD.

This is the brand gnocchi I used but in Whole Wheat (I’m sure the regular will taste even closer, the Whole Wheat was a little off…)

I hope you try it. Depending on how thick you make your chicken pieces (ours were admittedly a little big), it will be thicker than the traditional Olive Garden recipe. This really is my favorite soup. If you try it out, let me know what you think~! ❤

Here is the not so aesthetically pleasing picture of the left overs. Complete with a Spork.

Happy Cooking! ~Lauren

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

