Mission: Healthy Living and Eating

I have a confession. I love food. It’s my biggest challenge. Pizza. Pasta. Steaks. Bread. Muffins. Burritos. Ice Cream. Pancakes. Anything  filling and tastes like heaven in my mouth type food. Food got the better of me about 5-6 years ago. I was at the heaviest weight I had ever been. I’m talking over 250lbs. I would eat and eat and eat until my stomach felt like it was going to explode. I didn’t know how to stop. A few years after that I had a health scare where I was living with very high blood pressure. It made me dizzy, lightheaded.. not fun.

I honestly don’t know what triggered my panic. The idea of diabetes, heart attack, and not being around for my family scared me more than not fitting in my clothes. I’m thankful whatever it was made me decided to stop and evaluate myself. I’m glad it happened because the choice to make a change in yourself is a challenge that you can’t take unless it’s commitment made to yourself first. It made me take a hard look at my eating habits and my overall health.

Fast forward another few years. I met my (now) husband right at the beginning of my new found determination. It was simply just meant to be. My husband, JP, was and still is a huge inspiration. I went from not being able to finish a mile to being able, today in fact, to run one in just over 11 minutes. I’ve lost over 50lbs and I’m still losing. It hasn’t been easy, it’s been an almost 3 year battle, but I’m starting to win. Starting to see results. Not just on the outside but on the inside.

The head rushes are completely gone. My HDL is higher than it has been and my LDL is lowering. Blood pressure is at an amazing 107/70. A complete 180 from before. (I suggest if you don’t currently know what your HDL and LDL levels are to set up an appointment to find out. Knowing your numbers is half the battle.)

I wanted to share with you some healthier life choices I have made, and some I am going to be making that will push me to my next results.

I have…

*I -try- to run a mile every week day (or some sort of cardio)

* Lift weights

*Limit my soda to 1-2 a WEEK (not a day)

* Drink more water

* Eat fresh fruits and vegetables

I want…

* I want to cut out frozen meals completely

* Eat more organic or natural ingredient foods

* I want to cut soda completely

* I want to stop eating things with processed sugars (aka: “I will miss ice cream, cookies, and most things that taste delicious”)

I’m not the best spokesperson for the complete package that is healthy living, but I’m trying. I’m going to keep trying and be the best I can be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mission: Healthy Living and Eating

  1. Good for you!! Keep eating healthy! You are making changes that will effect your ENTIRE future. You are on the right track!!!

Leave a Reply

