Beer Review: Fall

I am normally not very fond of beer. I stick with really, Sam Adams or Blue Moon. Which is crazy to me as our dad used to brew his own beer. He is so knowledgeable about the whole process it blows my mind. So whenever I needed a beer/wine/spirit suggestion Dad is always the first to give counsel. I wanted to branch out and try some craft/import beer, and I love pumpkin anything, so I figure I could combine the two and give you my thoughts.Beer Review

Christian and I picked these three out.

312

The 312 is a Chicago beer that Christian would obviously pick as he is from there, but he was actually introduced to it in Korea. Apparently it is very popular.

I am horrible with picking notes and flavors out of products so here is what the website, Goose Island, said:

Inspired by the city of Chicago and densely populated with flavor, 312’s spicy aroma of Cascade hops is followed by a crisp, fruity ale flavor delivered in a smooth, creamy body that’s immensely refreshing.

Christian really loves this beer, he described it as a good ‘party’ beer. You know, if you like your friends enough to not give them nasty Corona or Millers Light.

Score: 9/10, could drink whenever available.

PecanAbita Pecan Harvest Ale. I tend to pick things based on either a) packaging or b) words. With this one it was definitely the packaging. Pecan beer sounds good, tastes like..not good. Here is what the website has to say:

Abita Pecan® Harvest Ale is brewed with pale, Munich, biscuit and caramel malts and Willamette hops. Real Louisiana roasted pecans are added in the brewhouse and give the ale a subtle nutty flavor and aroma. Crack one open for yourself.

Ok, sounds great! No. No, its not. I took one sip and it just tasted like burnt pecans. I was expecting something a little sweeter, like pecan pie, not campfire. Very bitter. I am actually returning this back to BevMo! because it will sit in the house forever. Christian didn’t like it, nor did any of our beer drinking friends.

Score: 1/10, only for packaging.

Grapefruit

Schofferhofer Grapefruit Radler. Discovered this gem while at Epcot for the Food and Wine festival. This is probably my go to beer. Is so refreshing and light, but doesn’t feel like a girly drink. It would definitely be a fabulous summer beer to drink ice-cold, but it transitions so well into fall. Here is what the website says about it:

Schofferhofer Grapefruit Radler is a unique mixture of bubbly-light wheat beer and the tangy-fruity flavor of sun ripened grapefruit.

That doesn’t sound exciting I know, but it is a really drinkable beer with a very strong grapefruit flavor. Very sweet, too.

Score: 10/10, would buy over and over again. Any time of year.

Any beer favorites? Always go for the Cherry Wheat? or maybe that Summer Shandy?

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beer Review: Fall

  1. Pingback: 99 Beers on the Wall at Hops House | Fabulous 50's

Leave a Reply

