Mission: Speculoos Cookie Butter Recipe

Our Dad came to visit JP and I at our new house and with his visit he brought us cans of Speculoos Cookie Butter. If you haven’t heard of this yet, prepare to be amazed. It’s the next “Nutella” in terms of trending flavorful butter spreads.

It has the taste of fall. It’s like someone ground up gingerbread cookies with a spiced frosting and added crack. Okay maybe not crack, but it’s addicting, and delicious. You can eat it right out of the jar and be satisfied. Who wants to settle for satisfied? I want to push the limits! I’m on the hunt for a great recipe to use these jars up. That way I can share them and not feel so guilty eating this stuff out of the jar … by myself …

The brand I’m working with is Trader Joes. There are others out there on the market, and I’m sure they’ll taste close, but I’m already sold on this one.

I’m remembering the recipes my mom used to make. Peanut Butter Popcorn balls. I thought I could exchange the peanut butter for cookie butter. It would still taste delicious, right?

Prepare to be amazed.

You will need:

As for the popcorn …. you can go the easy route like I did by grabbing  a standard (read: not mini) bag of microwaveable popcorn and pop it per it’s directions. Or you could use a popcorn maker and air pop enough kernels to make 5 cups of popcorn. I went for the instant gratification method and used a bag of popcorn I already had in the cabinets.

So to review you need:

5 Cups Popcorn

1/2 Cup Light Corn Syrup

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla

1/2 Cup Speculoos Cookie Butter (Crunchy or Smooth)

Directions:

Place 5 Cups Popcorn in a large bowl. Place it to the side.

In a medium sauce pan combine the corn syrup and sugar. Mix well and bring to a boil.

Take off the heat and add Speculoos and Vanilla. QUICKLY Stir until blended. 

Pour immediately over popcorn and mix well with a spatula. 

After 1-2 minutes the mixture should be cool enough to handle. Divide mixture and combine into 2-3inch balls, pressing them gently together with your fingers.

Yields: approx 12 popcorn balls

Tips: This stuff settles FAST! Be ready with the bowl of popcorn. Also place wax paper over your cookie sheet. As these cool they’ll stick to whatever they’re on. Wax paper is your friend!

Did you try this recipe? What did you add or change if you did?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mission: Speculoos Cookie Butter Recipe

  1. Pingback: Honey Peanut Butter Popcorn Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

